Diamond cuts : main shapes and derivates

Diamond cuts : main shapes and derivates

Round Brilliant 

Designed specifically for diamonds, the name brilliant is authorized only for this stone. It has 32 facets, the table on top as well as 24 facets on the bottom. 

The 8/8 cut 

Independent from the table, the parts on the top and on the bottom each have 8 facets. 

The Rose cut 

A dome-shaped faceted cut with a flat base. This cut can be rearranged in various ways according to the number and the placement of the facets. Due to its lack of brilliance, however, it is no longer used. 

The Step cut 

The type of faceting is simple and is also used for coloured stones. The facets are parallel and there are more of them on the bottom of the stone. 

The Scissor-cut 

This is a variation of the step cut. Each facet is divided into 4 lateral facets called scissors

The Ceylon cut 

This cut is used preferably to keep the stones at their maximum weight. It has many facets. 

The Emerald cut 

An octagonal-shaped step cut preferred for emeralds but diamonds as well. 

The Table cut 

The top is very flat with a rather large table. It’s the simplest shape of the step cut and is used for the creation of seals and intaglios. 

The Cabochon Cut 

It’s the main type of the single cut. The top is rounded while the bottom is flat or slightly convex. 

Various Cut Shapes 

Various other shapes exist besides these different cuts : round, ball, oval, cushion, old style (square or rectangular with rounded angles), triangle, square, octagonal, baguet (elongated rectangle), pear (or drop), marquise, pendant, briolette, heart, badge, barrel, trapezium (or taper), princess, asscher…